The Perfect Selfie Stick // En noir

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving! If your family is anything like mine, you may have spent a nice chunk of your short holiday bonding over the kind of crazy, communal joy that is Black Friday shopping.

It’s an Ahmed family tradition to spend a part of thanksgiving day flipping through all the local magazines and passing around a pen for everyone to circle products they’re interested in. This year, as I kept handing my dad our black ballpoint pen, I noticed he kept circling selfie sticks. Selfie sticks from Walmart, from Gordman’s, from Office Depot, from JCP, from everywhere. Dad??

During our family vacation this past summer we saw tons of people taking pictures of themselves in front of waterfalls near Marrakech or on top of the hill at Park Guell in Barcelona with super long selfie sticks that captured way more background than our selfies or even our portraits. So my dad was really set on getting one for us, too.

After strategically hitting all of our shopping destinations, our selfie stick contestants were:

IMG_9272.JPG

From left to right, these are from Office Depot, Walmart, and Gordman’s, respectively.

And seriously to my surprise, every single one was distinctly different. Which is the one for you? Please read to find out:

Gordman’s

This selfie stick came in a really exciting bundle that included a mobile phone tripod (!!), a power bank, and a micro-USB cable (why? you’ll see).

FullSizeRender-2.jpgFullSizeRender-3.jpg

And the selfie stick itself?

It needs to pare to your phone via Bluetooth before it can take pictures, and therefore it needs to be charged (hence the micro-USB cable).

FullSizeRender-7.jpg

Since, I’m kind of an old-fashioned person, I wasn’t a fan of the whole bluetooth thing, and I didn’t want to keep track of when my selfie stick needed to be charged. But I really considered getting this bundle just for the little tripod. Ultimately, however, the Ahmeds vetoed.

Walmart

This one, to my surprise (again), came with two things: the stick and a separate button for the stick.

FullSizeRender-14.jpg

This also pares to your phone via Bluetooth, but instead of having a button to press on the stick itself, you get a whole separate button. The problem? Having to hold the stick in one hand and the button in the other makes this harder than it needs to be. Vetoed.

Office Depot

So that left us with this:

FullSizeRender-8.jpg

A really basic stick where you just have to plug in your phone to take photos. No charging or other buttons to keep track of (sadly no tripod either) and perfect for me and my family.

Who knew there were so many kinds of selfie sticks? I hope this post will help you find yours too.

Happy back-to-work week!

 

Love,
Samah

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Selfie Stick // En noir

  1. Who would have thought there are so many different kinds of selfie sticks?! Great post with very insightful information! If I ever want to buy a selfie stick, I’ll definitely check Walmart first!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Katie! I was just in the middle of editing my post again when I saw your nice comment — I accidentally switched Walmart and Office Depot; so the one I kept is actually from Office Depot. So sorry about that, but thanks for reading! I’m glad you liked the post 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

